DIY glass jar lanterns

I have a confession: I hoard jars. But not just any jars, certain jalepeno jars specifically. I love their hexagonal shape and have held onto every jar that has graced my fridge for about a year, just waiting to create something amazing. I’m not sure this glass lantern classifies as ‘amazing’ but it’s cute.

It’s super easy, instructions would be pointless. Just get some wire and do some fancy twisting.

They could easily be mini vases. Or coat them in glitter and use them as Christmas decorations? Jars have infinite opportunities at reincarnation, and this Pinterest board of mine proves it.

Merry Christmas everyone! It’s good to be back x

Posted in DIY | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

5 Things

watermelon

The best part of a watermelon is obviously the white part. I get rather upset every summer when I see people waste the crunchiest, most delicious and undoubtedly the most valuable part of said melon. In my experience the further away you get from the white flesh, the soggier and crappier the melon. So don’t be a fool, eat the white part- it’s cool! (now there’s a motto sure to take off)

Last night a really old episode of Modern Family came on. The one where Phil Dunphy gives Claire a customised View Master for their anniversary. I always call Phil Dunphy, Phil Dunphy. His name sounds better that way. Anyway, I found the website that makes these awesome View Masters and now I’m tempted to knock over all my Christmas shopping in one hit. View Masters for all! Seriously though, what a cool idea.

We put our Christmas tree up last night. This prompted a conversation about how far fairy lights have come in my lifetime. Remember the big glass ones? One would break and the whole lot were screwed? It made me think about the things in life we just expect will break. Like umbrellas. The lining in your coat pockets. Tights. Headphones.

Nineteenth century underwear is actually really comfortable. The play I’m in requires me to wear Victorian-era drawers. You know, the 3/4 length cotton pantaloons with frilly cuffs? I’m considering stealing them. They are currently hanging on my clothes line. I wonder what the neighbours think.

I need to buy a vacuum cleaner. A fridge. And a washing machine. Just typing those sentences made me yawn. I can’t think of anything more boring than spending money on a vacuum cleaner, except for maybe paying for insurance or car registration. It’s moments when I have to part with cash for mundane items that don’t sparkle and can’t be applied to my face or body that finally make me feel like an adult. How fabulous.

How was your weekend? Internet connection at my house is imminent! x

Posted in Misc | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Lola’s Boutique

(note: try getting through this post without getting Lola stuck in your head)

My friend Jo officially launched her boutique last night. Jo and I ‘met’ in typical Gen Y fashion; while tweeting about an earthquake in Kalgoorlie (as opposed to a club in old Soho). Shortly after we met in real life she opened Lola’s Boutique. I really appreciate that Jo knows how to use an apostrophe. If she didn’t it’s highly likely we wouldn’t be friends. You wouldn’t believe the amount of signs around town that misuse apostrophes, one actually says: High Tea’s. High Tea’s what?! I’m starting to think it’s a West Australian thing, to just add apostrophes willy nilly… Anyway.

Lola’s stocks super cute clothes and accessories (or accessorie’s, as some would painfully write). I’ve bought a shirt and dress from there, very restrained. I have my eye on the mint bag in the below photo.

 


Pink lemonade. It didn’t taste just like cherry cola. C-O-L-A cola.

Studs. At Lola’s. L-o-l-a Lola lo-lo-lo-lo Lola.

Shoes. (are you just loving my super informative captions?!)

Popcorn.

 

Lola 017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jo in Lola’s. Lo-lo-lo-lo Lola’s.

 

And finally, a super awkward selfie in the fitting rooms. I was trying to capture the amazing wall paper.

Lola 026 edit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well that’s the way that I want it to stay, and I always want it to be that way for my Lola
Lo-lo-lo-lo Lola. Is it in your head yet?

What’s on for the weekend?

Posted in Fashion | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Wanderlust


I hate that I love New York City so much. How tiresome. And clichéd. But I can’t help it, I can hardly explain why it appeals so greatly to me. I really haven’t felt so at home anywhere else in the world. Perhaps thanks to pop culture we’ve all seen so much of the Big Apple that it just feels… familiar.

 I’ve only been twice, once for two weeks during a heat wave the second time by myself in the dead of winter. Both were excellent, obviously. Whenever I see someone’s photos from a recent trip I feel green with envy and nausea. It’s a deep belly ache that won’t go away.

So while I have no plans to return to my spiritual home in the near future, I do plan to live there one day, if only for a year. I’ll wait on tables, work at Macdonald’s, live in a dive. Anything. In the meantime I’ve made a board on Pinterest called The best city in the world . Do you have Pinterest? Let me know 

What is your favourite city in the world? Have you been to NYC?    

{Amazing photo from here}

Posted in Travel | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Hiatus

I am still without internet. Which means John, Joe, Josh from iiNet is a liar. I should be reconnected by December 3. Sorry for the absence. Some great posts coming up soon.

xx

Posted in Misc | Leave a comment

Have fringe, will celebrate

I didn’t chicken-out! Apologies for the constant grainy instagram pics. Josh from iiNet said the internet connection should be up and running by Friday. Don’t let me down Josh. When it’s all reconnected I will be able to attach decent photographs to my posts. But back to the fringe… Very happy with it, don’t know why I didn’t get it done sooner etc etc. I am now on constant stringy-fringe-watch, especially as temperatures here skim 40 degrees. Nothing worse than a stringy fringe (except for, you know, pretty much everything).

I watched Notting Hill yesterday morning. I forgot just how hilarious that movie is. The next press conference I go to I’m definitely saying I’m a reporter from Horse and Hound magazine. And asking equine-centric questions despite the topic.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Back to regular programming soon, I promise.

Posted in Misc | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Touche Hombre


I’m probably the last of thousands to blog about this restaurant, but as I wait for regional WA to take up Mexican food with the same vigour that Melbourne has (shhyeah right), I may as well reminisce…
About a month ago when I was in Melbourne I ate at Touche Hombre with a very good friend. It was way past lunch time, we were starving and abandoned our plans to eat at misschu thanks to the geographical convenience of TH.

In this gloriously out-of-focus photo is refried bean nachos:

Delicious is probably an understatement. We sated our thirst with Agave Mules, unfortunately I can’t remember what was in them. Berries and ice by the looks of things. And probably tequila.

We finished up with tacos. According to my receipt we had two chicken, one chorizo and one pork. The pork one came with apple and crackling. Inspired.

There you have it, the most vague and possibly out of date restaurant review ever. I always try to eat as much delicious food as possible on my trips home to Melbourne, on the same trip I managed to also squeeze in St Katherine’s, Mutti’s (traditional Austrian-German food, the Kasnocken will blow your mind), macarons at the Lindt cafe and breakfast at The Store.

Posted in Food | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

To fringe or not to fringe?

If you are looking to read a vaguely intellectual post today I implore you to look away now.

……. are you gone? Good.

I’m stuck in a rut. A hair rut to be specific. I acknowledge that it is a privileged and fickle position wherein I sit, when the boredom of my hair registers on my ‘things to be concerned about’ radar. But I digress. Every six months or so I go through a mental list of recent hair styles and tick them off; long (tick!) short (tick!) coloured (tick!) fringe…. Hmmm. ‘Perhaps a fringe is the answer?’ I ponder. It is here a google image search often ensues:

(note: I am unwilling to discuss my strange obsession with Rose Byrne and her fringe)

I then way up the pros: something different, will cover my colossal forehead, it’s only hair. And cons: will cover my eyebrows, take forever to grow if I hate it, will be hot in summer (which is pretty much here), and a fringe could take me back to this point in my life:

Me, age unknown. So at this point I usually give up all together and continue on in my rut.

But not this time (hopefully). I have an appointment booked for Saturday. Your advice is greatly appreciated. To fringe or not to fringe?

Posted in Misc | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

Frappelinis and other weekend adventures


Ever heard of a Frappelini?! I doubt it. They were only invented on Saturday night. My friend and housemate combined blended watermelon with a bottle (or three…) of sparkling wine and thus, the Frappelini was born. They bubble like something that belongs in a science lab. The name is a combination of my friend’s last name and ‘Bellini’, also a champagne based cocktail. Life. Changing.

On Sunday I got to attend the underground mine rescue competition. We went 900m underground and watched as teams competed in various emergency scenarios. It was incredible. The best past was the trauma makeup. So realistic. Have you ever seen a gruesome shin fracture? See the story I did on it here. If you’re sqeamish probably don’t have a look.

I still don’t have the internet at home… A first world problem yes, but still a problem. What mod-con do you stuggle to live without?

Posted in Food, Misc | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Friday Fast Facts

It’s that time of the week!

Fact: I’ve been so tired this week that my left eye has developed a twitch. It reminds me of the teacher in Daria who suffers stress so severe, his eyes routinely bulge out of his head.
Fact: I’ve felt rather home sick this week with all the action from Flemington dominating traditional and social media. On the other hand I feel this year we’ve seen far more embarrassing drunk photos and footage than usual, which is horrendous. It’s like people forget there are cameras in phones now?! Behave!
Fact: This weekend I get to go on an underground mine tour for work. I’ve never been in a mine. Unless you count the one at Sovereign Hill.
Fact: This weekend I will also track down a copy of Mermaids and Now & Then and have a ‘films that shaped my childhood’ movie night. I encourage you to do the same. I wonder what movies will be on your list?
Fact: I found the perfect nude nail polish last night, not too white, not too pink. I also channelled my 12-year-old self and bought some sparkly pink nail polish. Then I gave myself the following manicure:

I know, I know! What a gripping life I do lead. I bet you’re all jealous!

What are your plans for the weekend?

Posted in Misc | Tagged | 4 Comments