Ahhh bunting.
Because who doesn’t want to look like they are permanently celebrating a royal jubilee?
Tell me about the bunting in your life.
Ahhh bunting.
Because who doesn’t want to look like they are permanently celebrating a royal jubilee?
Tell me about the bunting in your life.
Wow. I made these yesterday and killed myself at spin tonight trying to work off at least one mouthful of the tasty morsels (probably didn’t).
The interwebs are in dispute as to the exact origin of red velvet cake, some say it originated from the south (of the US) and others say it came from the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in NYC. I tend to believe the latter seeing as most good things come out of the Big Apple (except for maybe apples…?). The Hummingbird Bakeries in London are also renowned for their version which I have sampled and can vouch for.
You will need:
Preheat oven to 180°C. Line eighteen 80ml (1/3-cup) capacity muffin pans with paper cases. (I ended up needing more, come to think of it)
1. Sift the flour, cocoa powder, bicarbonate of soda and baking powder into a large bowl. Stir in the sugar.
2. Whisk the buttermilk, oil, eggs, food colouring and vinegar in a jug until combined.
3. Make a well in the centre of the flour mixture. Add the buttermilk mixture and stir until just combined.
4. Divide the mixture among the prepared pans.
Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centres comes out clean. Transfer the cupcakes to a wire rack to cool completely.
To make the cream cheese frosting, use an electric beater to beat the cream cheese, butter, icing sugar and vanilla in a bowl until smooth. (the icing really is the best part, it is so delicious, I don’t even.. I can’t explain)
Pipe the icing over the cupcakes and top with the sprinkles.
There you have it. The black and white cups and cupcake stand were a present from Santa. Thanks 😉
I also used some inferior red paper cups (what are those things called?!) for the overflow:
And so ends my most recent adventure in the land of baking. Got any good recipes I should try?
I think the popularity of photo booths or stands has something to do with backdrops and props taking the awkward out of posing for a photograph at a party. I actually have no idea, seeing as I obviously have no problem posing for photos. But I imagine for the slightly nervous and inebriated, donning a false moustache and holding a giant photo frame for a photo takes the mind miles away from the ‘do I look fat/drunk/stupid?’ inner monologue.
In any case, the concept is really fun and adds a touch of zing to a party. As it did at the wartime South Pacific themed NYE party I attended recently. An excellent theme which I was able to adhere to within the confines of my wardrobe (bonus). My sister bought her dress from Dangerfield, which has evolved from catering only to angsty teens with a thing for tartan to a decent place to buy dresses. A fitting purchase as soon she and my brother-in-law will be moving to the South Pacific to live and work. Samoa, specifically.
Happy hump day everyone!
This is happening. I will buy no new clothes in 2013. Why? For a fun challenge. To get creative with what I wear. To appreciate what I have. To stop mindlessly buying clothes, wasting money and contributing to landfill.
The Rules
Buy no new clothes.
Only if a staple item is damaged to the point where it can no longer be worn or repaired, can it be replaced.
EVERY item in my wardrobe must be worn at least once throughout the year.
Underwear and socks can be bought.
That’s all folks.
This time of year, the internet is rife with ‘year in review’ style blog posts and although it is already Jan 4 I thought I’d join the party (late, with a box a barbeque shapes and a bottle of Yellow).
So I had a look at my stats to find out which posts rated the highest for the year and shoot-me-down-with-a-muscat-and-call-me-Jenny they are ALL diy posts. So while I wasn’t intending for this to be a DIY event, only DIY folk have rsvp’d to the party. Click on the titles to see the full posts, at number one:
Y’all went crazy for neon this year. As did I. All it took was a can of spray paint.
2. DIY neon and neutral clutch
More neon, only with paint this time!
The humble hardware store became a goldmine last year with nuts, industrial rope and plumbing parts becoming jewels du jour for DIY fanatics everywhere.
Another hardware store creation. I was rather hoping I wouldn’t have to re-post this awkward photo again… Oh well.
And finally coming in at number 5, the tribal necklace.
Long live the DIY trend.
On the first day back at school we were always forced to write about our holidays. If you tried to get out of it by insisting you did nothing, the teacher was wont to retort “unless you sat in a cupboard the entire time, you did something“.
I did not sit in a cupboard. In 25 iPhone photos or less, here’s what I did:
1. Was car buddies with Oscar all the way to Airey’s Inlet
2. Hit up the dog beach and
3. Threw a tennis ball into the waves for the Hound
1. Ate a giant cheese platter with four of my cousins and my sister
2. Ate too much pork crackling, kudos to Uncle Simon on the delicious pig
3. Cut myself an embarrassingly large slice pavlova, and put some back
1 & 2 Hit the beach with my cousins, aunts, uncles, grandma and all their dogs
3. Put ribbons on said dogs, here’s Cheeky modelling his
1 2 & 3. Drove to the House of Christmas aka Mum’s house in country Vic. Overdosed on crackling (true story!) and had to go to bed early.
1, 2 & 3. Ate more delicious food and played with more cute dogs on Christmas day at my brother in law’s house.
1. Drank at a caravan in a lane way (how very Melbourne)
2. Had Chin Chin chicken wings at 1am at Go Go Bar
3. Went a little crazy shopping ahead of Wearing My Wardrobe 2013 and bought this Karen Walker ring
1. Went to the People’s Market in Collingwood with two favourites and others
2. Ate a chilli dog and cheesy fries
3. Unwrapped my belated graduation present from Phyllis (aka Dad)
1. Went out for booze and meatballs (see previous post)
2. Dressed as an extra from Pearl Harbour for a wartime South Pacific themed NYE party.
3. Flew home to Kalgoorlie, unpacked suitcase and put EVERYTHING away and had a nice early night before work tomorrow (that hasn’t happened yet but I’m trying to manipulate the future)
Not pictured: my uncles and father after I gave them a festive green and red manicure and my sad face after leaving empty handed from Value City Savers (usually a second hand gold mine).
What did you do on the holidays? And don’t say nothing!
Hello! Been a bit quiet around these parts lately. But all that is due to change, what with my in-house internet connection and lack of extracurricular activities. I’ve been in Melbourne since Dec 21 living it up, eating, drinking and shopping. Today I fly back to the West, but before I do, lets play catch up.
End of 2012 celebrations began with lunch on NYE at the Meatball & Wine Bar. I went with Tarn who you may remember from the Touche Ombre post. Tarn and I met in 2003 or 2004 in Mr Batrouni’s english class. She is more fun than a trip to the puppy dog and fireworks factory and has the best wardrobe I’ve ever seen. More Acne than a pubescent teenage boy. But I digress.
We went for a lunch of balls and booze.
We started with Lick Pier alcoholic ginger beer and thinly sliced Prosciutto di San Daniele. Then we shared pork, fennel, sage and orange balls on Italian beans with pesto salsa verde sauce and chicken, pistachio, muscatels and parmesan balls on broccoli with italian tomato sauce. And a couple of glasses of Pino Grigio.
It was all delicious. But it was a shame they had run out of beef meatballs. How a restaurant specialising in meatballs runs out of a fundamental ball-of-meat ingredient may just be the mystery of 2012.
For dessert we shared a Whoopie Mac; homemade ice cream sandwiched between two macarons. One was almond, the other was strawberry. We wanted both to be almond, but the chef didn’t.
We left stuffed and parted ways to attend our respective parties. I went to a South Pacific themed party. Photos to come!
I’ve got a few New Years resolutions up my sleeve, but the big ticket item is of course Wear My Wardrobe 2013. I have (stupidly) resolved not to buy any clothes for an entire year. I will do a dedicated post about it tomorrow.
What about you? How have you spent the festive season? Got any crazy resolutions like me?
So this week I moved into the master bedroom (the only perk of losing my housemate Erin to the big smoke) and inherited a ginormous wardrobe. The wardrobe changeover was the perfect opportunity to take stock for my Intervention.
A few surprising discoveries; I have two times more tops than bottoms and I have clothing in every size from 8 to 14 (this shouldn’t really be a surprise…). Both of these things might make my ‘buy nothing new for a year’ project somewhat difficult. But anyway, here’s what I found:
61 tops – shirts, singlets, tanks etc
29 jackets – blazers, coats, cardigans
27 Dresses
36 bottoms – skirts, shorts, jeans, trousers
This is not including gym wear, basic black singlet tops, underwear, pajamas and a stack of old t shirts I have on hand should I ever need to paint a house (seems perfectly reasonable… right?!).
LOVE the handbag shelf.
So, I think with a few strategic ‘staple’ purchases I can definitely go a year without buying new clothes (did I just type that?!). Scary. But I can do it… right?!
And so, Wearing My Wardobe 2013 is born. Rules to come. Wish me luck!
So from this angle, things don’t look too bad:
But for the sake of honesty, here is a photo of my wardrobe in all its over packed, overstuffed gluttonous glory:
Ew. If I was wearing trousers I would unbutton the top button because this makes me feel uncomfortably full. Yes there is an unopened ASOS parcel in there, at least four horizontal stripe dresses, jeans all colours of the rainbow, two gold sweaters and some Everlast track suit pants that belonged to my ex ex boyfriend. This photo doesn’t even show the shoes and bags piling up on the floor… This kind of excess is most unsexy.
And I have more clothes at home in Melbourne. Time for action.
Now I could just throw out a bunch of stuff. I could. But I don’t want to, so instead I’m placing a ban on all clothes purchases. For at least 6 months. This weekend I will do an inventory to realistically gauge how long I can go without buying anything new. Could even be 12 months!
Rules. There needs to be a few. For instance, I can still buy underwear. Underwear is a necessity, $60 Pleasure State bras are not. But Target knickers are allowed. Another one; I must not channel my spending elsewhere and start going crazy on makeup and home wares in the absence of clothes purchases. This exercise is not about saving money, but that would be a nice side effect.
I want to do this so I appreciate the items I do have and stop mindlessly adding to piles of unworn clothes. It will be a challenge, because I think I only wear about 20 per cent of my clothes at the moment. So I will be forced to be creative.
One last thing, should I ban myself from shopping at second-hand stores?! Are there any other rules you think I need to implement? Have you ever done an overhaul? Got any tips? Let me know!